Join the Million-Inch Chain!

untitled-3.jpg

Share your strength by joining Hilary Swank and other Pantene Beautiful Lengths donors to become part of the Pantene Beautiful Lengths Million-Inch Chain. This is an effort to collect one million inches of hair for the program – equivalent to 20,000 wigs!! Two-time Oscar winner Hilary Swank kicked off the Million-Inch Chain on November 2, 2007, when she cut and donated her hair to Pantene Beautiful Lengths. Just eight inches of your healthy, strong hair can make a difference and help reach this truly inspirational goal. To become part of the chain you can pledge to donate your hair or upload a photo of you with your stylish new ‘do while holding your ponytail donation as seen above.

51 responses to “Join the Million-Inch Chain!

  1. I have short hair so there is no way for me to donate. My 10 year old daughter, in hte last three years, has donated three times and each time about 11 inches of her hair to the locks of love and has almost enough to do it again. I think it is a great thing to do. god bless all of you donating.

  2. I myself am battling cancer. I wanted to take a minute to tell you thank you from the bottom of my heart for this event.

    Linda

  3. Too bad they don’t take grey hair. Mine’s bee-yoo-tee-full 95% grey, shiny and healthy. My hairdresser says it looks silver. It has a lovely glint in the sun. They’d change their tune about what’s acceptable if they could see my hair!

  4. Hi Mary,

    We are sure your hair is gorgeous! Unfortunately, gray hair, as well as some chemically-treated or permanently-colored hair, does not absorb dye at the same rate as other types of hair during the wig-making process. It is much harder to color and, once colored, fades more quickly. Thank you so much for expressing interest in the campaign!

    Pantene Beautiful Lengths

    • I always thought that’s why grey hair wasn’t accepted (because of the dying process)…but I always wondered why you wouldn’t make wigs out of it anyways? If I was in my 50s, 60s or 70s and needed a wig, I would pick a wig that would suit my age! Just something to think about!

  5. I am in the process of organizing a local hair donation drive day. I am contacting different salons that will get involved and offer free cuts! I am also getting hair care donations to give to everybody that donates! My goal is to get 30 people to donate, including myself!!!

    l.cowen@yahoo.com
    http://www.myspace.com/helivesinlisa

  6. If someone can not donate hair but wants to give a monetary donation, how would they do that? I can’t find any information for that on the main webpage.

  7. I have been growing my hair since a very good friend was diagnosed with Breast cancer at the age of 29! I will donate my hair in honor of her (she’s been cancer free for 9 months) even though she is one of the sexiest women i have ever seen bald! In addtion to her, my step cousin was re diagnosed with cancer after 5 yrs in remission and a co workers sister who is losing her battle with cancer. My hair is for them!

  8. Hi Brenda,

    All monetary donations can be made through the beautifulllengths.com website. Click on the “About” tab at the top of the page and scroll down to partners. On the left hand side you can make a donation to the Entertainment Industry Foundation’s Women’s Cancer Research Fund. A portion of all donations goes toward the creation of Pantene Beautiful Lengths wigs. Thank you so much for wanting to contribute!

  9. My mom is an ovarian cancer survivor and I plan to donate my hair, it should be long enough after Christmas, but my hair is naturally red & I’ve been told it won’t color well. Hope you can still use it.

  10. Hi Mary,
    As long as your hair is healthy, it will be perfect for donating!

  11. Only three more inches for me before I can make the cut for the first time. My plan is to grow it twice to donate before I’m 40.

  12. I just got back from the salon where they cut two ten inch ponytails. My hair is incredibly thick and they couldn’t cut through one pony tail!

    I was just diagnosed with a rare cancer last week and while chemotherapy will not help me, radiation should. I know I will not lose my hair, but I wanted to give mine to someone who could use it. I have donated to Locks of Love in the past, but I am happy to see that people are helping adults with cancer too.

  13. i just cut my hair to donate it, it is colored with semi-permanant dye. Can it still be used?

  14. Hi Trista,

    You certainly can donate your hair! Hair colored with semi-permanent and vegetable dyes will be accepted and made into wigs.

    Thanks!

  15. I’m about to cut my hair and it’s about 14 inches long. However, it’s also layered, so the shortest layer is just short of eight inches (it’s about six and a half, to be precise). Can this still be used, or would I have to separate the layers which are too short?

  16. I grew my hair so I could donated it to Beautiful Lengths. I used the length of my hair to motivate my Cub Scouts to collect canned food for our local food bank. I told them if they each brought in 100 cans they could cut off my hair. They came through and the following link documents it.
    http://link.brightcove.com/services/link/bcpid1155316042/bclid1155075693/bctid1349157501

  17. Hi,

    I heard about the Million Inch Chain a few weeks ago in a magazine and I went and cut my hair. Its 12 inches of hair. And I was wondering where I send it. The salon didn’t know and just gave it back. But I want to make sure it gets to the right person.

  18. Christiane Stakely

    I am a 5 year breast cancer survivor and after having lost my hair I decided to not cut it for a while (I have always been a “short hair” person!) It doesn’t grow as fast as it used to and it does have some grey (hopefully not more than 5%) but I think it’s almost ready to donate! I know I am more than ready to have my short hair back! It’s naturally curly so it’s hard to tell the length but my goal is to have it cut in time for summer. Thank you for helping make life a little easier for those battling cancer.

  19. Hi! I was so inspired by Hilary Swank’s appearance on the Oprah show that I, too, just yesterday, cut my lovely long hair to donate. I would never have chosen this very short hair style for myself, but had absolutely no problems doing it for such a worthy cause. I’m hoping that layered hair is acceptable to donate??? I cut it anyhow, and know that I can send it to a different organization if layered hair is not acceptable. I just want to be absolutely sure that when I mail it in, it will be usable. I have the envelope ready to go when I hear back whether or not it is okay.
    Thanks!

  20. What happens when Pantene hits their mark of 1 Million inches? Will they discontinue the program? I want to grow mine out, but it will take a while. My oldest daughter only has a few more inches to go though.

  21. I would like to donate my hair, but how do I find out where to do that in my area?

  22. Hi Kai,

    It sounds like you have a lot of hair to donate! Although your hair is layered, it can certainly be used! All of the hair that meets the 8-inch requirement will be able to be made into a Pantene Beautiful Lengths wig.

    Thank you for you donation!!

  23. Hi Janice,

    You can donate your hair at any salon. Just bring in a plastic zipper-lock bag to put your ponytail in after the cut! Then go to http://www.beautifullengths.com for mailing instructions.

  24. Hi Christie,

    We are so excited that you and your daughter are growing your hair for Pantene Beautiful Lengths! We hope that the 1 million inch goal will encourage people to donate and achieve this goal. It certainly does not mean that the program will end when the goal is reached; it simply means that we will be able to help hundreds of women. Thank you!

  25. Hi Julie,

    Layered hair is certainly acceptable! Each layer that meets the 8-inch requirement will be perfect for donating. Thank you for your donation!

  26. Hi Amy,

    You can send your ponytail to:

    Pantene Beautiful Lengths
    511 Wisconsin Drive
    New Richmond, WI 54017-2613

    Please let your salon know too!!

    For mailing instructions, visit: http://www.beautifullengths.com/en_US/makethecut.jsp

  27. I really want to
    donate hair for this
    cause it sounds amazing
    but i have really curly
    hair and it wont work
    for it to be short
    i look forward to doing
    this for the very strong
    women battleing cancer
    may this help them
    be beutiful inside and
    out

    God Bless

  28. I have very long hair and would like to donate it. This is the first time in 2years I will be cutting my hair. I just moved to Myrtle Beach, SC from NY and need to know where a VERY good salon is that does NY style haircuts. I am 23 years old and do not want an out dated look. Please let me know salon’s around this area! Thanks

  29. hi my name is muzhda im 16 and this yr I decided to donate my hair when I cut it, i wanted to send it to locks of love and then I saw hilary swank on oprah donating her hair and I decided to donate it to pantene beautiful lengths it shouldnt make a difference they both go to the same causes. But Im so ecstatic that someone will benefit from my hair its incredible and im askin lots of my friends to do that same thing.
    Love
    Muzhda

  30. i donated my hair for the very first time to locks of love, i had 11 inches. i found out about beautiful lengths and just want to get rid of my hair, i cant wait any longer. i have very thick brown curly hair that has never been chemically treated. i want to donate it but only my last layer is 8 inches, which would make a very small pony tail. is it ok to just donate my bottom layers? after i donate i plan to add highlights, can i still donate hair again? how do i know what dyes are safe to put in my hair and donate again? i hope my hair helps some very strong woman fight her battle with cancer

  31. Hi Lizzy,

    You can certainly donate your last layer, as long as it is 8 inches long. As per the the donation requirements listed on the Pantene Beautiful Lengths web site, hair can be dyed with semi-permanent and vegetable dyes. Thank you for you donation!

  32. I am seventeen and have always been so attached to my long hair. After my dad was diagnosed with cancer this past year, I became keenly aware of how cancer can change everything. So I decided to mull over the idea of cutting my hair so that someone fighting cancer could feel a little bit more normal, because I can’t imagine not having my hair. I researched organizations, and decided that if I were to cut my hair, it would be for Beautiful Lengths because it is non-profit, and specifically for women. Almost as if by destiny, last week I was at a Nashua Pride Baseball game, and there was a station to donate your hair… to Pantene! So I held my breath, smiled, and cut my hair! Now some woman who is battling cancer will be able to receive a wig, and hopefully feel beautiful! Good Luck Everyone!

  33. I am donating tomorrow. I was going to give to LOL. However, everyone donates there. I would rahter see I go to a women so she can get on the road to recovery.

    I am SO glad as my hair is almost to my butt and I am going to my shoulders.

    Shanna de

  34. I DID IT! I cut my hair 13 inches on Saturday Sept. 6, 2008. I had it cut in Cape Canaveral at Hair Works, and Jo An did it and it looks AWESOME!
    I have not had a hair style for 10 years. I do now.
    I am also trying to encourage others to cut theirs and donate too!
    I feel honored that i am able to help in such a wonderful manner as giving the gift of (Joining life again)
    Major cudos to Pantene for taking on this AWESOME cause for so many deserving women. I am honored to participate!
    I am also sending photos soon. Thank you Pantene!

  35. Now that I have researched the donation of my healthy pony tail, I see that Pantene’s BEAUTIFUL LENGTHS is guaranteed to benefit cancer patients. One of my sisters, as well as one of my dearest friends, are both breast cancer survivors. Fortunately, for my sister she did not have to undergo chemotherapy and lose her hair; she did, however have a mastectomy. To support and benefit the many women who have been effected by this evasive disease, such as my dear friend, it will give me great pleasure to donate an 8″ ponytail in approximately another month – a Christmas gift to a beautiful woman some where on the continent we share.
    Keep on growing the Million-Inch Chain Pantene!

  36. I would love to do this, but would like to know of a salon where I could get the hair at in Colorado. Any suggestions?

  37. My hair is layered if the shortest layer doesn’t make it to eight inches but the rest does can I still donate?

    • Hi Mia,

      Yes, as long as there’s a substantial amount of hair that meets the 8inch requirement, please donate and send to Beautiful Lengths!

      • Will you sort out the hair that is too short and sell it so that you can get additional money for the cause? I know some groups do that and I hope that the hair that is too short will be put to good use towards the campaign!

      • Will it still only take 6 or so ponytails for one wig, and will my short layers be used (because they are the curly nicest parts)?

      • Hi Mia,

        I hope you’re well! A wig consists of six ponytail donations. If your shorter layers are 8 inches long, they will be used, as well.

        Thank you!

  38. There should be more mailing addresses clearly posted on the main site!

  39. Michelle Rossi

    I wanted to let you know that today my three daughters, 6 year old twins and 3 year old, and I all cut eight inches off to donate to this very worthy cause. The twins are so excited they are giving someone else their hair. The 3 year doesn’t understand that part, but is totally loving her new haircut. We would also like to make this donation in honor of our cousin, Leighann Wildenstein, who is in the process of beating breast cancer.

  40. I have layered hair, so when it is in a ponytail there is only about half of it that is actually 20cm. Is it still usable?

  41. I was wondering: the website said you could straighten curly hair before cutting it. When it curls again won’t it be too short? How is it used?

  42. If I straighten my curly hair before cutting it off, when you get it and treat it, won’t it then be less than 20cm? Or would you prefer 20cm of curly hair because it will be used curly? Or will it be straightened anyway?

    Thanks!

    • Hi Mia,

      I hope you’re well and thank you for thinking of Pantene Beautiful Lengths! You may straighten your curly hair before donating it so that you know the exact length you would like to cut.

      Thank you!

  43. Hello,

    You may find additional information on Pantene Beautiful Lengths at the below address:

    http://www.pantene.com/en-US/PanteneBeautifulLengths/Pages/default.aspx

    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

