Marissa Rodriguez | December’s Hero of the Month!

Marissa loved her long, gorgeous locks — but she realized that stunning hair like hers could benefit people who could no longer grow long, strong hair due to cancer treatment. Check out Marrissa’s touching donation story below.

– – –

      I am still embarrassed to show my friends and family my 5th grade school picture because my hair was so full and thick!. At that time, I never heard of a straightner so I let my hair air dry to which I thought looked lovely but now looking back I could have really used some mousse or even some Pantene hair spray! Anyway, throughout my life people have always told me that I have beautiful long, thick hair. After graduating from Rutgers University in the spring, I wanted to get a new hair cut for when I started my big girl job at Accenture in the fall. At first, I was just simply going to cut 3-4inches and still be able to enjoy my long hair. I have had short hair in the past and just simply thought that short hair did not complement my face. BUT after giving it much thought and recalling a conversation I had with an older woman, who complemented my hair at the nail salon and then went on to tell me a story about one of her friends who was battling cancer and who recently received a wig from donated hair, I began to consider donating my hair. I thought I would never get the courage to do it but I finally said “Marissa, put your feelings aside and think about those who really need it. Your hair will grow back, others won’t.”

I loved having long hair and the thought of cutting 8 inches off was simply unimaginable. After much contemplation, I finally called the hair salon to schedule an appointment to donate my hair. Watching my stylist cut my hair was such an amazing feeling because I knew someone else would get the same feeling, not from giving but from receiving. Well now, I love my new short, thick hair which is just above my shoulders. I am so happy I was able to be a part of Pantene Beautiful Lengths because the thought that my hair will help to bring confidence to a woman fighting cancer is absolutely an incredible feeling. I know that I have given a gift that someone will be so thankful for. My friends keep asking me, “Why did you cut your beautiful hair?” I just reply with a smile, “It’s ok, it will grow back!” I hope my story and others will inspire more people to perform such a selfless act in order to help others!

Thank you for sharing your story, Marissa!

Do YOU want to nominate someone to be our Pantene Beautiful Lengths Hero of the Month? It can be a friend, family member, stylist or you can even nominate an entire salon! Send all nominations to: BeautifulLengthsWigs@devries-pr.com.

Leave a Reply

