Londonderry High School Pantene Beautiful Lengths Hair Donation Event – Friday, January 11th, 2013

The Seventh annual Pantene Beautiful Lengths hair donation event at Londonderry High School will take place on Friday, January 11th, 2013. This year, over 120 students, staff and family members are signed up to donate on the gym floor, in one simultaneous cut done by family and friends, many of whom have dealt directly with cancer, in front of over two thousand students, staff and community members. The seven year total for donations is close to 1300 individuals!

So how does Londonderry High School get these numbers? Do students look to Anne Hathaway or other cropped stars for inspiration? The secret is, they look to each other. “It really began with Kaela MacInnis, who was a sophomore.” Coordinator Steve Juster recalls, “Kaela has beautiful full blonde hair. When she donated and wore an above-the-shoulders blunt bob, a number of students came to me to sign up for the next year. I had not even designed the permission slip as yet for that next year! Many remarked on how breathtaking  Kaela looked with her hair cut, and told me if she could donate, they could do it as well, and their hair would look great, also.” Now in college, Kaela returns to donate her hair again this year.

“Now,” Juster says, “posters around the school that publicize the event always contain student photos. They inspire each other. The hallways of Londonderry High School are crowded with angels.”

2 responses to “Londonderry High School Pantene Beautiful Lengths Hair Donation Event – Friday, January 11th, 2013

  1. I was dianosed with breast cancer and about to start treatment; I want to be prepared for when my hair falls out. I just came home from receiving my wig donated through pantene beautiful lengths. Words can not decribe my thankfulness to whoever donated this wig for me. It is exactly my hair color and style! I am a 44 year old woman with two children ages 6 years and 4 years old. I want my children to see me as who they always see me as. Tears rolll down my cheeks with gratitude to all of you who help people just like me. May God bless you and thank you so very much.

    • Hi Tina,

      I am so glad that you are happy with the Pantene Beautiful Lengths wig! If you ever have any questions about the wig or the Pantene Beautiful Lengths program, please don’t hesitate to ask!

Leave a Reply

