I Chopped and Donated 12 Inches of Hair

By Maria Wen Adcock

I’ve always had fast growing hair, to the tune of a half inch of growth or more per month. Recently I chopped and donated 12 inches of hair to Pantene Beautiful Lengths, a program that uses real hair to make wigs for women who have lost their hair to cancer. It was the first time that I have donated to this organization, and I liked that fact that with Pantene Beautiful Lengths all donated hair is used for wigs rather than selling some of it for cash.

Those who want to make a donation can get their hair cut at any salon and simply mail in their hair. I found a highly-recommended hair stylist named Stana who cuts hair out of her home. I told her about my plans to donate to the program, and she was game with taking before and after pictures.

My hair had gotten to the length where it was just in my way. Between raising a young child and working, getting my haircut got lost between the busyness of every day life. Plus I knew I wanted to grow out my hair long enough to eventually donate and have someone wear a wig of a longer-than-usual length (minimum donation length is 8 inches required). I asked Stana to give me a bob-style haircut, and with that in mind the length of my hair she cut off was one foot.

IMG_0229 IMG_0243Looking at these before and after pictures really makes me realize how long my hair was. With shorter hair, my head literally feels lighter and washing and combing through my hair takes half the time it use to. My new cut is easy to take care of and more styled versus just hanging down aimlessly.

It’s good to know that my hair that otherwise would have been thrown away can be put to good use. I encourage everyone to donate if they can. Make sure to read the directions on the Pantene Beautiful Lengths site for requirements.

Leave a Reply

